h1

Bread. Again.

March 26, 2013

IMG_5116

Yesterday I had a day off, with no cleaning, no tutoring and no university obligations. At around 2pm I started to feel twitchy, and I took my new book for a test drive. All three recipes come from Paul Hollywood’s ‘How to Bake’, and they are bloody tricky. However, having nothing but time, I threw caution to the wind, and tried a white cob loaf, crumpets, and an 24 hour brioche.  Here are some photos of the results, maybe don’t look if you are hungry- or go and make them!

White Cob 

Probably the most satisfying loaf ever; rough and broken and cracked and light, and wonderful. Slash the top before baking, and dust with flour.

IMG_5093

IMG_5095

Crumpets

So, I know what your thinking- why make crumpets when they cost about nothing pence, and taste lush?

To be honest, yesterday’s crumpet marathon was more about sheer defiance and a desire to prove that I bloody well could. The result is yeasty and chewy and gorgeous covered in strawberry jam.

IMG_5100

IMG_5101

IMG_5102

Brioche

Ahhh- my magnum opus, my grand work. I have pushed this bread into the face of each of my family members demanding that they acknowledge me as their lord and ruler. This 24 hour creation is blissful, it needs nothing- but feel free to cover it in jam, butter, or like my preserves troubled dad- marmite. The shape was made by creating 9 equal balls, and arranging 8 of them around 1. Although I milk it, don’t be put off by the time, about 20 hours of that was fridge time and I forgot all about it.

IMG_5105

IMG_5110

IMG_5113

So, I’m off for a nibble- remember- never trust people who willfully avoid bread.

IMG_5118

Stay Unchained ❤

3 comments

  1. They all look lovely. Agree crumpets are more difficult than they look, well done with yours.


    • They turned me into a serious stressball- but all worth it ❤


  2. Looks great!



Leave a comment