h1

Life, the universe, and everything. (and some cake too, don’t worry)

September 18, 2013

I feel dreadful. I have become one of ‘those’ people. Those people I used to laugh at during my anti-hipster phase (which I’m still in).  Those people who sit in Starbucks, staring around with their Apple Mac, sipping some kind of coffee abomination whilst they tsk and roll their eyes whilst they work on their magnum opus, their great English novel.

Actually, I’m just blogging whilst I wait for my American to finish his PhD advisor meeting. I’m in Starbucks in Manchester, and I so desperate to avoid the above stereotype that I ordered a mint tea that tastes like polos in boiling water, and I made no noises and no eye contact with anybody. And this isn’t the great English anything- it’s a blog about cake.

So, Manchester! The city has a great buzzy feeling, everything is so cheap and individual, and the uni is so cool it hurts. The only thing i haven’t yet found is a decent teashop, hence Starbucks,  but I’m sure it’s just alluding me,

Whilst I have been here, it has been a challenge to not become overwhelmed by the hugeness of what we are undertaking. PhDs in separate towns, PhDs in general, resigning ourselves to the kind of broke only postgraduates can understand and the stressful passionate dedication of academic writing. I remember, during a particularly stressful part of my Masters, rushing back to the library with a short loan book, which had incurred a 30 pound fine, trying to speed read it on the way, whilst running through all the possible reasons that Anne Boleyn might have had devout religious intentions and how to disprove them- thinking that academia had claimed the very last parts of my soul, and that I should go and become a baker in Tuscany, and dedicate my life to raising wild boar.

But we are back again, and already I am itching to get back to the books, and the stress and the only lifestyle that makes me truly happy.

Wow mayte, that got a bit heavy for a cake blog. Here’s some pictures of some cakes what I made this year.

IMG_4907Sour Cream and Chocolate Cake

IMG_3350

Chocolate, Hazlenut and Malteaser cake

IMG_3499

Marmlade Bread and  Butter Pudding

IMG_2923Jam and Cream Viennese Whirls.

Stay Unchained ❤

Leave a comment